Duke of Edinburgh Award Update

Senior School

It’s been a great year for Duke of Edinburgh Award participants.  91 girls completed their Bronze Awards this year.   Of the 66 girls who started their awards in September 2015, 50 have received their awards and the remaining 16 are very close to finishing.  Participants each undertook volunteering, a physical activity and a skill for 3-6 months and all successfully participated in two 2 day expeditions.  There were challenges along the way but they all came through with flying colours.  I am very proud of all of them.  

Our Silver participants leave for their 3 day assessed expedition in the Peak District at 06:30 on Monday, having already completed their practice expedition in the South Downs.

Our Gold girls will be experiencing the fabulous scenery from Kinder Scout during their practice expedition in the Peak District and from Pen Y Fan during their assessed expedition in the Brecon Beacons in August. 

Fingers crossed for good weather.  Good luck to you all.  It’s going to be amazing.

A huge thank you to parents of all participants for ensuring the girls were at the start of each expedition suitably clothed and equipped and for having their favourite meals ready for them on their return from expedition.  They spend a lot of time on expedition anticipating those dinners.

Huge congratulations to the following participants who achieved their award this term:

Gold Awards: Ellen Morris

Silver Awards: Sanjni Bhudia, Anjali Doshi, Emma Ferguson, Zahra Merali, Kartika Rajaratnam, Bairavi Selvarajah

Bronze Awards: Mahima Badhwar, Safiya Callachand, Jasreen Chadha, Emmy Chinnick, Reana Chopra,

Sofia Da Costa, Davina Desai, Lucy Doey, Alessandra Douglas, Noella Gbadebo, Emily Gee, Elizabeth

Gentely, Claire Gordon Brown, Raadiyah Kalla, Virginia Kelly, Imaan Khokhar, Anisha Lal, Rachael Lewis,

Naveena Luthra, Anokhee Mehta, Nishika Melwani, Shenaz Mohamed, Hana Noor-Khan, Dominique

Olaleye, Marion Oluba, Fiza Owais, Karishma Patel, Riya Patel, Leah Patel, Anushka Patel, Vanisa Patel,

Frankie Prideaux, Rahi Rajani, Anya Ramprakash, Sarina Sanghera, Taanvi Sawhney, Cheenar Sedani,

Elisha Shah, Daivishri Shah, Tasnim Shah, Kirsty Sowunmi, Sally Tremlett, Humshayinie Umassudan,

Janam Vadgama, Shaaruka Vasudevan, Naiya Vekaria, Priyanka Vithlani, Adchaya Yogenthiran, Adchiga Yogenthiran

Enrolment for next year’s awards will take place in September.  The Bronze award will be open to all girls in Year 9, the Silver Award to all girls in Year 10 and the Gold to all girls in Year 11.  

Mrs Cronnelly, DoE Award Co-ordinator 

You may also be interested in...